answers 0:I'm about to stay in an upscale establishment for one night. This will be the fourth one-night stay I've had this year (in different hotels), and it never occurred to me to leave a tip for the maid until recently. I definitely am not leaving much of a mess behind, just some towels and maybe a few things in the trash can. Is it customary to leave a tip behind regardless? Additional information: I live and travel in the U.S. only. These hotels generally cost $100-$200/night, in metropolitan districts....Show moreanswers 1:This is an excellent question. Unfortunately, it's not really customary, but think about thier job....Whether it's an upscale hotel or just a plain motel, I feel we should all leave a tip for the maid. Think of what these people do as opposed to the waitresses/waiters out there who seem to get a tip no matter what they do (or don't do) M! aids clean up the most personal aspects of you. They clean the dirty soap scum left in the tub. They change the sheets after only God knows what went on the night before. They scrub out your toilet (and we all know what goes on there) They empty your garbage, full of smelly beer bottles full of backwash, used dental floss, used condoms.... These maids most likely have no decent education which means not much money. Give them what you would a waiter/waitress who can pull in as much as $300 a NIGHT in tips alone for doing what.... bringing you food and checking to see if "everything's ok".......answers 2:Lol!That gave me a good laugh!Wow, and humans are supposed to be the most evolved race, After reading that, it seems as though we are even less evloved than Goldfish!...answers 3:constantly offer her mints. Maybe by doing that she will get the hint and ask if something is wrong, then you can be honest with her.answers 4:well you had a better one than me this weekend. We wer! e at the Mall of America and it was busy as hell. There were t! ons of people waiting to use the only 2 MAIN glass elevator. They have tons of escalators to use and the elevators are really for the handicapped and stroller people but everyone was seeming to use these elevators. So finally after 20minutes of waiting for people to finally get on we get left out with a large rather obnoxious group of mostly blonde teenage girls. They were huddled in front of the button panel making rude comments to anyone walking by. All being extrememly rude and very loud. We were waiting, and waiting and waiting and waiting and after the damned elevator went past our floor twice with out stopping I finally look up and see that NO ONE PUSHED THE UP OR DOWN ARROWS!! ARGGGGHHH. I finally said, "hey when your done making fun of all the passerby's and admiring your looks in the glass can anyone muster a little brain power to push the up arrow so we can ALL get going? They stared at me, with incredulous eyes? they had the "how dare you address me look" my fri! ends were laughing so hard, I finally walked quite exaggerated with slow large steps over to the buttons, did a really slow-mo motion and pressed the button very forcefully.... stating " there my dears, this is how we use an elevator. Any questions? I plan on having a class later if anyone wants to join". My friends were doubling over in tears... they were saying these girls were going to knife me with mascara wands later. I told them I had cosmetic armor on underneath my clothes. WHY are these girls not taking the escilators? None of them were handicapped or had kids so why they were waiting for a snail slow elevator was beyond me. I had my daughter, stroller and my 2 friends with stroller full of kids. Well to spite me they all piled into one elevator when it got there and no room for us. So we patiently waited for the other and made fun of them some more....answers 5:I have a friend that is very cool and I don't know if she brushes her teeth or not and she smokes and I d! o smoke too, so I know that the smoke does leave a smell in your mouth,! but not like this smell so how do you tell that person that something isn't right inside their mouth?answers 6:I like the idea of pushing the gum and breath mints. She will get the hint.answers 7:You didn't need to put that part in parentheses. :)After the 2nd time, I would have said "You need to wait about 5 seconds... THEN push the up arrow." Some people can be idiots.answers 8:It sure wouldn't hurt to throw some money on the table for them. They work hard and get very low pay.answers 9:talk about other people on campus, or food, or just something that all people share, such as habits...she sounds a lot like me... a nerdanswers 10:Lol! Sorry but that's funny.What can i say some people don't' understand the concept of certain things. On a personal level, you have no control over the elevator. I would have said "could you please wait at least 10 seconds before pushing the button or else it will just keep opening..But it times of frustration you never think of the right ! thing to say. What's really annoying is the elevator in my building sometimes will come all the way to my floor and then won't open, but i can't call the other working elevator b/c the broken one is on my floor. The saddest part about it is they apparently have "fixed' it 3 times...ha. ...answers 11:Yes,you tip.answers 12:my friend Jere used to never brush his teeth or use Q-tips on his ears. When we'd go out together his ears would look really gross and whenever we sat close I could smell his really bad breath. Finally, at the movies one night I just came out and asked him if he brushed his teeth and cleaned his ears, because he really should. He did seem pretty embarrassed at the time, but after that he never had bad breath or waxy ears again...enough said ðanswers 13:In similar circumstances, we leave a couple of dollars, in a folded piece of paper that says, "For the maid. Room 234, April 4, 2016". I don't think the usual 15% applies for hotel stays.answers 14:No, ! they just wanted to see how long it would take for you to beat them to ! a pulp. ha haNo, a lot of people do not understand how to use an elevator, they push the up button when the arrow shows down, and the other way around also..I would have said, there are the stairs, seems it would be faster for you......
Subscribe to:
Post Comments (Atom)
No comments:
Post a Comment